Year 7 ~ Totus Tuus ~ Day 24

God’s word is a word that causes us to love – verbum spirans amorem – and impels us forth by love, because it is a living word; indeed, it is Jesus himself… By his word God teaches us, inspires us, corrects us, and shares his heart with us…

Mary was assumed into heaven at the end of her life. This is important because it means that she had to live every day from the trial of the cross and the glorious of the Resurrection, Ascension and Pentecost on to the end of her earthly pilgrimage, without the visible presence of Jesus. She had to wait patiently and ardently for the fulfillment of Christ’s promise in her life. The charity which burned in her heart, thanks to faith, had to be lived out in a life of intense spiritual poverty, of intense hope. She had to cling to the promise of something she could not see or take rest in; Mary lived in this world as a true citizen of heaven, her heart fixed on Jesus in the joyful poverty of hope…

Learning to live in hope is at the heart of the De Montfort consecration…

Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect; but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. Brethren, I do not consider that I have made it my own; but one thing I do, forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. Phil 3:12-14

Leave a comment