Michigan ~ Day 160

I worked a stretch of 11 days, the last day being Friday, and yet, while I was ready for Friday to be the last day of that stretch, I didn’t feel terribly exhausted or at all overworked. Also, Scott scheduled me to work two days, have a day off, work another two days, and have another day off for this week, so that brings us to today, Tuesday. I had to have my bloodwork done today, so that was convenient, but bloodwork meant getting stuck three times before a sufficient amount of blood was acquired, so that put me a little out of sorts. It is what it is, I suppose. And the nurse was very apologetic and I really did my best to try and make her feel better about it. It’s not her fault my veins have apparently hardened from being stuck so much and just haven’t been given enough time to heal.

These last days are flying. Last week, we started mapping things out and trying to make sure that we have something going on together every night. So far, so good.

On Thursday, we had a BBQ at Sharon’s. Best bacon-wrapped venison I’ve had all year. I elected to sit with Nina in the quieter room. Claire was there!!! She’s one-and-a-half years old now, she’s walking a bit, talking a bit, and is very giggly. I got to play with her for at least half an hour, I think. Dinner was followed by a musical bonfire atop the vineyards. Chad was kind enough to record and post a short sampling of our a capella selections at the bonfire. Alise and I successfully pulled off I Am Stretched On Your Grave as a round. It was pretty awesome. At 10:15ish, Ryan and Missy and I left for the premiere of The Wolverine. BOSS. I got to play with a baby AND watch super awesome ninja fighting in one night. Loveeeeee.

Pat brought his mobile recording studio to the cafe on Friday night, and we – Missy, Ryan, Alise and I – recorded eight songs: Someday We’ll Know, I Am Stretched On Your Grave, A-Team, Kiss Me, Cry, Falling Slowly, Fire & Rain, and Split Screen Sadness. We got back to the cabin at around midnight, happily satisfied with our work. I’ve missed being in that sort of musical group so much. I hope we get together again sometime in future years.

On Saturday, we had another ladies’ night out. We went to Palette Bistro, again at Scott’s recommendation. Sarah was able to join us this time. The paella was a bit salty, but not so much so that I couldn’t finish it =) The mango margarita helped. And the 10-year-old tawny port. And the company was, of course, superb. It’s almost like having the mommy circle. We had to wait for a table to clear out for our reservation, but when we got to the table, it was clear why the group before us hadn’t been in a hurry; we had an absolutely gorgeous view of Lake Michigan from the second floor of the restaurant. Our reservation was at 8:30 and we probably weren’t seated until 9:15, but it was so worth the wait. We were the last table out on the second floor, just as we had been the last table out of the wine cellar at Chandler’s. We just have so much to talk about… and giggle helplessly over.

I had promised to watch Josie’s movies before the end of the summer, so Ryan and I headed over to Kelsey’s place after getting off of work at around 10-ish on Sunday night. We brought desserts and made ourselves comfortable in the basement. Josie’s movies are so cool! Makes me wish I’d made some time for those film courses at CState that I was always glancing at when making up my schedules. After Josie’s movies, Ryan and I sat around for another hour discussing theological stuffs over ice cream and meringue and raspberry cream and panda-bear stroking. Ayep.

Last night, we had a Farm to Table dinner for 72, and there were a couple of hiccups when plating, but I’m very happy with how it turned out, and I think Scott was, too. We’ll be doing the same menu tomorrow, I believe. Scott let me decide on the third hors d’oeuvre, so I did some pork belly wrapped in kimchi, sprinkled with chaat and drizzled with red wine syrup. It was the first hors d’oeuvre to run out. I had to text Jason about it, of course.

Tonight was my last night out ballroom dancing. Next Tuesday is the intern dance, so I’ll still be dancing… just not ballroom dancing and not on a proper dance floor, but it’ll be a nice way to go out. I won’t be able to make it to any more Trivia nights because of the Farm to Table and Wine Dinners respectively. Still, our plans include more musical bonfires, possibly more wine tasting, maybe ziplining, and definitely one last Sunday night at Legs.

My surgery is scheduled for the 14th, the feast of St. Max. I’m to receive Extreme Unction on Friday the 2nd. Aaaand I need to get to bed! because I have to get up early for Morning Prayer and Mass =) I have eight Masses left in Harbor Springs, and only six more opportunities to join the Holy Childhood community for Morning Prayer…

Well, summer’s end is near, but life goes on. Time to start worrying about textbooks and senior project and looking for a new car.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

