7.05.13

Meds

Mt 9: 12 – 13

But Jesus hearing it, said: They that are in health need not a physician, but they that are ill. Go then and learn what this meaneth, I will have mercy and not sacrifice. For I am not come to call the just, but sinners.

In Conversation with God:

I desire steadfast love and not sacrifice. Our Lord does not refuse to accept the sacrifices offered to him. He insists, however, that such sacrifices must be accompanies by the love that has its origin in a heart that is good…

Those Pharisees, who faithfully fulfilled the Law, did not accompany their sacrifices with the sweet fragrance of charity towards their neighbour or with love of God… These people honour me with their lips, but their heart is far from me… 

… many may not find giving up food and drink and a soft bed too difficult… But bearing an insult, a wrong, or hurtful words… this is something to be borne not by many but by few…

… God wants us to know how to find him in all those things He allows to happen… These are known as passive mortifications. They can take the form of serious illness…. for which there seems to be no easy solution… These are the opportunities for telling God that we love him… through accepting… When we accept that particular reverse… with love, and offer it to God, we experience peace and joy in the midst of sorrow. When we do not accept it, our soul becomes as though out of harmony and sad…

God asks us for sacrifice offered up with love…

The friend told his Beloved that He should pay him the amount due for the time he had served him. The beloved took into account the thoughts, desires, tears, dangers and toil that the friend had suffered for love of him. Then the Beloved added eternal bliss to the account, and gave Himself as payment to his friend. 

Playlist

… i’ve been let down… i’m haunted… it feels like i’ve got no escape, my life left me high and dry, i used to be sure of myself, but then my whole world went to hell and tomorrow looks just like today, so i lie on my bed, i won’t let the morning come in, and i hide in my room, feeding that fear… i don’t know who i am… i’ve lost my fire, and my flame’s gone out and i’m down on my knees ’cause my life is not what i thought it would be…

ToB #91 ~ St. Paul’s Analogy of Union of Head and Body Does Not Destroy Individuality of the Person

Leave a Reply

