Michigan ~ Day 118

Trip was here! He and his cousin, Teddy, surprised me at work. I fed them, Trip visited the tasting room (something he wasn’t old enough to do last year when he passed through), they shot the squash rocket, and I managed to get out of work at a decent hour. Post-work adventures included the beach, food, and the boys’ choice of the 2115 showing of Now You See Me. The next day, we were able to attend Mass in Harbor, have a quick coffee afterwards, and then we went our separate ways.

Man of Steel is now my third favorite superhero movie, behind Avengers and Captain America. I had gotten Missy [and myself] tickets for her birthday to the 7pm premiere on Thursday night in Petoskey. No spoilers. Go watch it. We were hoping to have dinner at Thai Orchid, but they were closed by the time the movie ended, so we settled for Applebees.

I finally watched Ip Man 2!!! The things we make time for when we don’t have homework…

We had our first Jonah Day in the kitchen. The night before had been the barn dance and none of us wanted to be there. We were all tired and grumpy – and we were all girls!!! It was an interesting and very trying day. But the next day, Missy and I were right back into our groove, laughing and dancing around on the line like the day before had never happened, and when we talked about it a little into the day, we decided that we were just being girls, giggling our heads off together for weeks, and then having one day at daggers. It was a new experience, but not entirely unexpected – Sami and I had those days, too, after all.

The barn dance went very smoothly, and I think Scott is confident that I can handle barn dances on my own. I don’t want him to be around if he doesn’t want to be or need to be, so I took what notes I needed and I’m pretty sure I’ve got this for the rest of the summer =) Scott’s been leaving at a decent hour or early 90% of the time, which makes me very happy.

The kale du jour has changed; we went from kale, bacon vinaigrette, spicy pecans, crumbled bleu, and crumbled bacon to kale, curry vinaigrette, carrots, raisins, almonds, and garbanzo beans. The pulled pork has proved itself to be a favorite, and the Cherry Wine BBQ sauce is my new favorite condiment.

I did a second cracker trial with my new bacon powder, but I had plated the bacon fat on salt, and the cracker, while having a hint of bacon at the beginning, was just too salty after the initial hit. It’s going to need a lot of work.

I’ve been writing down my reactions to The Omnivore’s Dilemma. Pollan starts to talk about food chains in the first chapter, about knowing where your food comes from. It’s incredible to be here at Pond Hill and know that the greens in the salad that I ate were picked that morning from our own fields, washed in the wash-&-pack room downstairs under the cafe, and found its way up to me in a produce tub. All within a matter of an hour or two, and just a three-minute walk down the road. The chicken I roasted the other day was once running around at another farm down the road, healthy and authentically free-range, a term that the industry has made worthless. The ham I sliced last week was our own pig, which we fed daily with scraps from everywhere on the farm – from the fields, from the cafe, from our respective houses and cabins. It is incredible to be living – if only for months at a time – on such a short and easily traceable food chain. I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve seen the inside of a grocery store since I got here forty days ago.

I remember that first week back at school after my first summer here, and all the stress that seemed to suddenly pile up on me. I had my apprehensions about coming back. But I understand now why I couldn’t imagine being anywhere else but here this year, and as scary as it was, having all of these health issues come up after the decision had been made, it’s a great place to be dealing with everything.

Kelsey, Josie, Danny, and I had lunch together in the cafe one Tuesday when we happened to all be off, and then spent the day at the Island.

scan

We failed to make it to any real landmarks… Well, ok. We set up our picnic-of-sorts next to the stone which claimed to be “the most historical spot” around, below the fort, so I guess that kind of counts. But we basically sat around at the park enjoying chips and mixed drinks, chit chatting, and playing Dare. There were boy scouts around, and Danny and I had had a debate over the policy change the other day at the cabin, so once we’d caught Josie and Kelsey up on the debate – and we were all in agreement that there had been no real reason to change the policy and that the whole thing was a dirty manipulation based entirely on corrupt politics and blood money – the dare for me was to go ask one of the scouts what he thought of the policy change. I was disappointed with that conversation. I hope I didn’t intimidate the kid, but I really was just looking for an honest opinion. It was painful. Anyway, my crazy companions spoke in German accents all day, and the joke was that we were the Von Trapp family, and I was the governess (speaking with a British accent, which comes much more naturally to me). It was ridiculously fun. We discovered the delight of Kafui’s great secret – mixing our Tunnel Vision Hard Cider and our Cherry Wine. We’d brought mason jars with us, complete with lids, so it was no trouble keeping everything packed away neatly. I passed on the radioactive[-colored] gatorade-and-Bacardi mix, but highly enjoyed the completely random discovery of what we dubbed the cotton candy drink, which was some combination of Bacardi, sprite, and pink powerade. So much better than that ridiculous shot of red bull and vodka from my first night at the Tavern.

I’ve received so much mail already! from Yena, Steffy, Victoria, all my medications… lol. I treated myself to a pretty pill case, because frankly, it’s just easier than carrying 6 to 9 bottles around with me everywhere…

Well, I’m off to get some sun in downtown Petoskey and mail some letters =) Peace!

Leave a Reply

