Deja Vu

Deja vu, while commonly known by the longer-ish explanation as a feeling of already having experienced the present situation, is also more simply defined by the dictionary as “tedious familiarity.” There’s something so expressive about that combination of words.

And it has been something like or close to tedious, leading up to yesterday. I feel as if I’m losing Daveed’s twice. It all ended abruptly, and then I came back, and pieces got chipped away slowly… Bengal, Garry, now Jason, soon the building itself. There’s some thing about knowing who’s around when you walk in the door that I’m finding to be inexpressible. I don’t know if it’s really sad or just a touch nostalgic. I knew when I walked in on Wednesday that Jason hadn’t been in the building at all that day, and consequently would not be, because only two trash cans had liners, and only one sani-bucket had been filled. A couple of Tuesdays ago, I knew he hadn’t worked the previous Sunday because the skewers were hung in the other direction.

I’ve picked up on those habits… he did call me one of his minions. I hang skewers a certain way and line all five cans regardless of how busy we’re expecting to be. And I think he and were the only ones who took the time to squeegee the water out of the bottom of the garde lowboy… which means that I’ll be the only one doing that now, at least for a little while longer.

Ok, enough of all that. I’m ridiculously excited for Jason. I’m not looking forward to a kitchen without him, but I’m on my way out, too, anyway. I’m counting down the weeks to Pond Hill, and I’m looking forward to keeping in touch about new experiences. God is so good for blessing me with such friendships as these.

One comment

Leave a Reply

