08.21.12 ~ Adultery: A Breakdown of the Personal Covenant

http://www.ewtn.com/library/papaldoc/jp2tb36.htm

Although Israel may be so unfaithful with regard to its God, like the wife who “went after her lovers and forgot me” (Hos 2:13), Yahweh never ceases to search for his spouse. He does not tire of waiting for her conversion and her return, confirming this attitude with the words and actions of the prophet: “In that day, says the Lord, you will call me, ‘My Husband,’ and no longer will you call me, ‘My Ba’al…. I will betroth you to me forever; I will betroth you to me in righteousness and in justice, in steadfast love and mercy. I will betroth you to me in faithfulness, and you shall know the Lord” (Hos 2:16, 19-20). <– And this is the God in whose image and likeness we are made, and who men are called to imitate in their love for their wives! Isn’t that beautiful? “And I will espouse you to me for ever: and I will espouse you to me in justice, and judgment, and in mercy, and in commiserations. And I will espouse you to me in faith…” Hosea 2:19-20

  • paramour – a lover, esp. the illicit partner of a married person
Leave a Reply

