Michigan ~ Day 1

I was debating between “God Works Through Google,” and “This is the springy-est bed I have ever been on,” to begin, and I think I’m going to go with the latter. Seriously, this bed is as good as a trampoline. If it were bigger [and if the ceiling were higher], I’d be tempted to do a few front tucks. As to my first choice, it really is crazy that I just found this internship through google. God is so amazing.

We left for Michigan yesterday, preceded by one last Mass at St. Max. I’d been taking my time with packing all week, but once we got to that morning, I was terribly anxious to be off. We ended up leaving at about noon. Crazy traffic, man. Not cool. But I had a good time switching cars and between sleeping and driving with Mom and Dad. Yena had brought Audrey Assad’s Heart, so we were listening to that during the really slow stretches. Other than traffic, the whole drive was fairly uneventful. We stayed in Saginaw last night.

Breakfast was at 7, and we were on the road before 8. I slept for the first two hours of it. When I woke up, it was like a dream…

I’ve found another place-that’s-like-everywhere-else-I’ve-lived. It’s like some insanely awesome combination of Pescara and Clarks Summit. I’m right at home here in the mountains, surrounded by trees, plenty of narrow winding roads, this beautiful isolated-and-yet-not-too-much feeling… Driving along Lake Michigan called Vasto to mind.

We reached the farm at about 11. I met my employers and all my co-interns, was handed some paperwork to complete and showed my room. Between 12 and 20:30, I got settled in, went on a hay ride, went to Mass, and had lunch and dinner and ice cream with the fam. My employers’ kids, aged 2 and 4, came with us on the hay ride. One of my co-interns was driving, and he stopped at the trout pond. We were all given fish food and encouraged to throw handfuls of the stuff into the water. Emma, who is 4, had brought a net. She caught a fish all by herself in under 10 minutes! So much fun.

My parish for the summer is the Holy Childhood of Jesus, about 10 minutes down the road from the farm. Dad said the architecture is typical of the old churches in the Pinas. I love it. I love everything about where I am.

I am not a morning person and I am happy to report that our typical clock-in time is 9am. With the days being so long, I’m sure I wouldn’t mind if that got shifted on busier days to a couple hours earlier, and I’ve been told that we’ll get much busier come July. Tomorrow, I’m to begin training in the tasting room. I’ll post pictures when I can.

Peace out =)

Leave a Reply

