break my heart for what breaks Yours

The testimonies at the I Have A Say blog are amazing. Here are just a few lines that caught my eye and that keep calling out to me. These are the men and women in whose company it is and will always be an honor to live and fight and build up the world alongside. Because we will!!! The followers of this culture of death will go on being self-centered, essentially contracepting themselves to death, not because we will stop trying to reach them, or stop trying to help them, or stop trying to love them, or stop trying to be heard above their inane and empty chatter, but because there are many among them who simply refuse to be reached. Yet, when they are gone, we are the ones who will continue to live full lives, open to life, joyfully bringing new voices into the world whom we will raise to continue in that glorious tradition which is the Faith.

… I guess you could say I have a heart for the heartless, and a love for the unlovable…

… “Never forget Satan wants your children dead in a garbage can!” And fifty million unborn American children to date, that we know of, are dead in the landscape of a satanic dump yet their most precious of souls are carved in the Palm of Crucified Christ. The slaughter of holy innocents has become the foundation of the demise of civilization, rapidly deteriorating, on the altar of satanic sacrifice. Cecile Richards is a voice and advocate for the devil’s agenda. She does not represent or speak for the interest of women, but destroys their vocation and identity through her profession…

… I have a say, and I have children who will one day have a say. As youths, their testimony lies in being…

… My life has been full and fulfilling. I tell you these things, not to brag about my credentials, but to enforce the point that your life is never over – no matter what cards you are dealt…

… I have done the college thing. I have done the activism thing. I have done the career thing. I am not sheltered. I am not oppressed. I am no shrinking violet. I will not be sterilized. I will not be silenced. I am fully human. I am a wife and a mother. I am a woman. I am Catholic. I am a soldier of Christ in the Church Militant and I am a force to be reckoned with…

… I was completely unprepared for that doctor’s visit. He chastised me for being irresponsible. He threw a pen across the room in disgust, slammed down my chart, and told me that if I didn’t abort the pregnancy I would lose the baby anyway… For good measure, he added in that if that wasn’t enough, the medications I had been taking would probably cause the baby to be deformed. (Oh, dear, he believed imperfect children should never be born.. how shocking! ) I fired that doctor on the spot… How could anyone be so heartless? …

… Having many siblings benefits children in many ways- they learn to share, they learn compassion, they learn to be unselfish and to work in a team for the good of others. In fact, large families are an antidote to selfishness, as their members learn to give and accept respect in so many intimate ways. This naturally spills out into society and makes it better. In a large family, no one gets the constant limelight so children learn to support others’ gifts and talents, and know when the time comes for their personal victories they have an audience of support and love for them…

… So many married women reject motherhood for a career, or willingly leave their children to find “fulfillment, excitement, money and power” in the workplace, but the real fulfillment comes from forming a human person- day to day formation of and sacrifice for another living human being- and not just any- your child…

… The reward is not money- it is something greater that you can take with you to heaven- your children and relationship with them…

… I have a say. What do those words even mean? They mean that I, a young Catholic woman, have the right and the ability to be a significant factor in my country. I can say what I wish, and I possess the right as a human being to have my voice heard among millions of my fellow citizens. Cecile, I have a say – and I say that you do not rule my thoughts and words. I will have my say. I have been given life – I did not gain it myself. It was a gift from two loving, generous, self-sacrificing parents. I was given my life in love, and I believe I have the duty to help those who are being denied my gift…

… I stand for life, for all the lives that have been abruptly ended by sterile knives, for all those infants who face a death worse than any we can. At least we will die having lived. They must die in ignorance of why their lives are ending; no knowledge of the sun and sky, no friends, alone in the dark. They are silent. In my own small way I speak for them…

… I state again that I’m not Catholic but in this fight, we are all Catholics now! …

… Ironically, having my child has made the punishment for the choices I have made even worse. Though I have experienced boundless joy in sharing in the life of the precious creation that is my lovely daughter, I am also painfully and acutely aware at what I have destroyed. I loved my daughter from the moment I knew she existed, though I threw other children out like meaningless garbage because they didn’t fit into the life I was living. To have a child after you have aborted makes it so painfully clear… you cannot love one tiny embryo the instant that you discover it exists, yet declare the other to be a non-human mass of cells that can be discarded and forgotten…

… I speak on behalf of my half sibling and the rest of the unborn who weren’t given the chance that I was and I’m not going anywhere…

Leave a Reply

