oh, alcohol

There seems to be some confusion/concern over the picture I posted for Day 17 of the 30-day Picture Challenge. To clarify – no, I am not about to go ‘start’ a vineyard, nor was it the alcohol itself that had such a profound impact on my life =) Sorry.

Posting a picture of the lineup from the day we tasted seventeen dessert wines did not seem entirely out there (Ohey! Seventeen dessert wines for Day 17, what a coincidence that I only just realized…); first of all, each one deserves its own decent amount of attention, and second, there were so many. I thought this picture would appropriately signify the ridiculous alcohol-information overload of last term.

But the reason I consider this overload to have been the thing most recently that has made the biggest impact on my life is not actually because of any drinking or even just tasting. Alcohol-info-overload-term (which is what I shall fondly remember it as for the rest of my life) has given me a better handle on so many other things in a way that I didn’t realize was possible.

Geography’s the biggest one – never exactly my forte at any point in time. When you said, “Germany,” I thought, “Europe.” Now I can think, “Germany, cold, closer to the 50th latitude than the 30th, NE of France, shares part of its border, used to include part of France (Alsace)…” etc.

Oh, and for some reason, I always though Australia was the closest landmass to Antarctica. Now I know it’s New Zealand. And it absolutely fascinates me the way terminology is reversed because of that – how since they’re below the equator, they talk about it getting colder as you go south and warmer as you go north. Bizarre…

Anyway, I did not intend for this post to turn into a dissertation, or to give a run-down of my textbook. The million nuggets of knowledge that I gained over the course of last term will continue to make their unexpected appearances all over the place, like on Mrs. Derham’s facebook status about Cascade’s New Zealand Spring scented dishwasher detergent =D (I suggested that that was their fancy way of saying “smells like freshly cut grass” based on the fact that Sauv Blanc from New Zealand is known for smelling like freshly cut grass which suggests something about the terroir and how it may potentially translate into other things… like detergent…)

Leave a Reply

