Assignment: Assessment of My Learning Preferences

http://www.bgfl.org/bgfl/custom/resources_ftp/client_ftp/ks3/ict/multiple_int/index.htm

According to the first test, my strengths come in the following order:

  1. ~ Kinaesthetic ~ Body smart
  2. ~ Musical ~ Music smart
  3. ~ Intrapersonal ~ Myself smart
  4. ~ Linguistic ~ Word smart
  5. ~ Interpersonal ~ People smart
  6. ~ Logical / Visual, Spatial ~ Number smart / Picture smart
  7. ~ Naturalistic ~ Nature smart

1, 2, and 7 are not surprising to me. That I know myself better than I know others was a little unexpected, though. I feel like I deal better with others than I do with myself. Or maybe I’m not understanding exactly what that implies. I was most definitely not expecting to be more ‘Word smart’ than ‘Picture smart.’ And that I tied for ‘Number smart’ and ‘Picture smart’ makes me wonder… my guess would have been that I am more ‘Picture smart’ than either ‘Word smart’ or ‘Number smart’, and that all three would fall under ‘Body,’ ‘Music,’ ‘Myself,’ and ‘People smart.’

http://www.engr.ncsu.edu/learningstyles/ilsweb.html

According to the second test, I have a preference of 3 towards Active learning as opposed to Reflective learning, a preference of 5 towards Sensor learning as opposed to Intuitive learning, a preference of of 1 towards Visual learning as opposed to Verbal learning, and a preference of 1 towards Global learning as opposed to Sequential learning.

The site makes the following suggestions for those who prefer Active, Sensor, Visual, and Global learning:

  1. Active ~ If I have classes that allow little or no time for discussion or problem-solving activities, I should try to study in a group which allows the group members to take turns explaining different topics to each other, and then speculate as to what we might be asked on at the next test and help each other figure out how we will answer. –> Unfortunately, this test does not take into account the fact that I generally prefer to work alone, unless I am with a group of people that I have known for at least three months (that would be a rough estimate). Judging by the fact that the term doesn’t last that long in the first place, I doubt that this will be of much help to me. I suppose one option would be going to people I am already comfortable with — family and friends — to help me study. The drawback there would be the fact that they would have no need of the information themselves and would not naturally be inclined to make time for it; not to mention, I’d feel guilty. Well, we’ll see.
  2. Sensor ~ I simply must quote: ‘Sensors don’t like courses that have no apparent connection to the real world; intuitors don’t like “plug-and-chug” courses that involve a lot of memorization and routine calculations.’ But I’m both ways!!! I don’t like either! and yet it says I supposedly have a level 5 preference for the former as opposed to the latter. Well, I guess that’s true enough. I honestly do not think that any advice it has concerning this learning preference is going to be of any use to me [at present].
  3. Visual ~ When using course material that is predominantly verbal, I should try to organize my notes using charts and maps and colors. I think this is great advice, it’s just a question of time. I’m not much of an artist, so I can’t do it off the top of my head while actually taking notes in class. Perhaps I should plan on making time to do this over the weekends. I like the sound of it. 
  4. Global ~ Advice here is to skim a chapter first before reading the whole thing, setting aside large blocks of time to immerse myself in one subject rather than working a bit at a time every night, and trying to relate what I’m learning to things that I already know. I [usually] already do all three of these. 

http://www.vark-learn.com/english/index.asp

According to the third test, my VARK score is:

  • Visual: 9
  • Aural: 8
  • Read/Write: 9
  • Kinisthetic: 9

Above lands me in the group with multidomal preferences. I did read the article on that, and I believe I am more or less competent at the Specific Context approach, which is that I attempt to adapt my learning preferences to what the subject requires. But I am aware that this is a trial-and-error approach; sometimes I am successful and sometimes I am not. It simply depends on the subject.

I have employed the Whole Sense approach as well, like mentally defining my current Honors class as basically re-learning everything I’ve already learned in ToB minus God.

One comment

  1. You seem to have had fun with this and that is part of the idea. When we stand back from the little details and look at the "global" picture, there may be things to take in and utilize. You already know yourself pretty well. Because you have been self taught, it may be that you have moved toward what was easiest/ most natural for you. The thing to consider is what if the class/teacher you end up in isn't that "best way " for you.Then maybe the tips can come into play more.
    Re-learning isn't much fun but everyone comes into this class with different backgrounds so we cover a lot of stuff.

Leave a Reply

