Plum Crisp

Whew. I’ve had a very long break from food blogging. How horrible. Do you know, I STILL haven’t blogged my masterpiece cake, from JANUARY, which I baked for my mother’s birthday? Bah!

But anyway, I made a truly delicious crisp yesterday, if I do say so myself. :D

Mum got plums, and asked if I’d do something with them, or she’d turn them into jam (jelly). I guess I am not quite so burned out from the party cooking as I thought. Yay!

For the topping:
6 tbsp flour
1/4 cup light brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp salt
5 tbsp unsalted butter, chilled and cut into 1/2-inch pieces
3/4 cup rolled oats

For the filling:
roughly 2 – 3 lbs plums, pitted and cut into wedges (“boats,” we call them. Eighths are usually the perfect size.)
1/4 cup sugar
juice from half a lemon

Pulse flour, sugars, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt in a food processor. Add the butter and pulse until well combined. It should be a thick paste-ish type thing. Add the oats and pulse just so that it’s evenly distributed. Refrigerate the topping for at least 15 minutes. Meanwhile, [reheat the oven to 375 degrees, and prepare the filling. Toss the plums and sugar and lemon juice. I just went ahead and tossed it in the (9-inch) pie dish that I was using. Bring out your chilled topping and enjoy flattening cold clumps of it with your fingers and arranging it all nicely on top of your filling. Funnnn. Bake for 40 minutes, then turn up the oven to 400 degrees and leave it in for five more minutes. Serve as soon as you like.

Leave a Reply

