“You were only given this life because you are strong enough to live it.”

I saw this on a bumper sticker on facebook.

Now, take out the ‘only’ (because that sounds very unaware of the value of Life) and you’ve got the answer to the one question put to me by more than one friend when I argue Pro-Life, and it’s stumped me. No, it hasn’t made me doubt my stance, but it’s bothered me.

But now I finally understand… it’s so simple. This is the answer.

You were given this life because you are strong enough to live it.

The challenge was this — How do I argue for a Life, say, that was born to a poor woman in a bad environment, and who lives, being a burden to its family, living a life worse than Hell, and not counting for anything but just another miracle?

Yes, I am paraphrasing, here, from at least 3 separate discussions that I’ve had with people.

First of all, addressing the ‘life worse than Hell’ part, who are we to say? Hell is eternal fire. Suffering on earth is temporary. And there is a road to Eternal Happiness, a road that is open to everyone, if they simply choose to seek it with a sincere heart.

Second, we are not ‘just miracles’. What’s ‘just’ about us?! Were they just miracles when Jesus made the blind see, the deaf hear, the lame walk? Was it just a miracle when He raised Lazarus from the dead? Was it just a miracle when He rose from the dead?! I hope to goodness we are not reading the Bible and think we humans are just so darn amazing nowadays that we can say, PAH! Our life is great — those were just miracles.

??!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

But of course, in a world where nothing is sacred, by heaven! Who would want miracles???

Sorry. I’ll quit the sarcasm.

The point is… Well, one point is the obvious, and that is that the Value of Life is very clearly misunderstood by far too many people. But the point I want to address is one that, I suppose, would be strictly more for ‘believers’ than otherwise. That being said, I mean no offense by this post.

Where is our trust in God? This isn’t supposed to be our battle cry just through the bad times — it’s supposed to be our standard during the good times, too! Trust in the Lord! Hope in the Lord! Lamentations 3:24 “My portion is the Lord, sasys my soul; therefore will I hope in Him.” Have I forgotten so quickly what I learned at Conference??

These arguments, they belie our trust in the Lord. They contradict all that we claim we believe Him to be! Do we not believe that He is All-Good? That He is All-Knowing? That He knows our weaknesses even better that we do? If we believe that He is a Loving God, if we believe that He is Love, why do we question why He would put Life in such a difficult situation? Do we know better than Him? Do we know more than Him? Can we judge more clearly than Him?

You were given this life because you are strong enough to live it.

God! put! LIFE! there!!!

In that moment, He puts there what was not there but a split second before!

He creates something that never existed!

We complain complain complain, God isn’t doing this, God isn’t doing that, blah blah blah blah blah… where is God, we ask?! Why doesn’t He come down and make some miracles??

Brothers and Sisters, Hasn’t He???????

It’s life. Life! He doesn’t build houses out of thin air, He doesn’t make trees appear, He. Creates. souls! And through the bodies He gives to those souls, the invisible becomes visible.

Dear God, I love that.

We make the invisible, visible.

Us! We! We humans! We, weak, selfish, pathetic little things that would be nothing, nothing without Him… He gives to us the privilege of living to make Him visible to the world.

Whaaaa??

Do you know how crazy I feel when I read that? I’m supposed to do what?? But that’s the purpose of my whole life! Of my whole being! To make God visible!

Wheeeeewwww. That gives me goosebumps.

When we ‘believers’ argue that a life wouldn’t be worth it, that there would be no point to it, when we argue that we just don’t see that any good could come from that life being allowed to enter the world, we deny all that we say we ‘believe’ about God.

Do you think your parents never had ANY doubts about having you? About whether or not they could handle you? Do you think there have never been rough times between your parents over you?

Argh. Heh, I’m getting so worked up, I think I better say goodnight :) You get my point.

I think.

5 comments

  1. […] Posts answers to study questions for To Kill a Mockingbird A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park”You were only given this life because you are strong enough to live it.”Covenant Orientation for CFCThe Bellmaker by Brian JacquesText TwirlYOUTH CAMP — Friday, 2/15/08 […]

  2. “We, weak, selfish, pathetic little things that would be nothing, nothing without Him…”

    It’s sad to me that your religion has taught you to think so little of humans, on order to dupe you into submission. I’m not saying there is no god, but if god does care how we live, he doesn’t need our worship like this. I’d like to think god is above ego trips. Would you want your children to say “I’m weak, selfish, and pathetic, but my Mom makes me ok”?

  3. I stumbled upon your blog post, and I am so thankful that I did! Thank you so much for writing this. God definitely used it to speak to me. I’ve struggled with trust all my life, but am working on it. God uses so many different ways to speak to us sometimes. Thank you for writing this. I completely agree with you, and want to encourage you to keep it up! Keep God the center of your life. He is amazing, is He not?

Leave a Reply

