The Greatest Love of All

You know, love songs can get pretty soppy… and dirty… and crappy… and just yucky in general. Haha. But anyway, it hit me today that my favorite love songs are the parent-to-child ones. It is their purity that makes them precious… heart-rending, but so terribly lovely.

I heard two in a row on the radio today… and then I thought to myself… how beautiful God’s love is for His children. And His love song to each and every one of us surpasses all love songs on this earth.

Hmm… these songs make me want to be singing them as a mommy. lol :) Mum’s right… I don’t really think I’ll ever be happy with any college major. I mean, I think it would be nice to say one has a BA under one’s thumb… but all I really want to do with my life is raise saints.

your baby blues
so full of wonder
your curly cues
your contageous smile
and as i watch
you start to grow up
all i can do is hold you tight

knowing clouds will raise up
storms will race in
but you will be safe in my arms
rains will pour down
waves will crash all around
but you will be safe in my arms

story books full of fairy tales
kings and queens and the bluest skies
my heart is torn just in knowing
you’ll someday see the truth from lies

knowing clouds will raise up
storms will race in
but you will be safe in my arms
rains will pour down
waves will crash all around
but you will be safe in my arms

castles they might crumble
dreams may not come true
but you are never all alone
because i will always
always love you

clouds will raise up
storms will race in
but you will be safe in my arms
rains will pour down
waves will crash all around
but you will be safe in my arms

~~~~~

she spins and she sways
to whatever song plays
without a care in the world
and i’m sittin’ here wearin’
the weight of the world on my shoulders

it’s been a long day
and there’s still work to do
she’s pulling at me saying
dad, i need you

there’s a ball at the castle
and i’ve been invited
and i need to practice my dancin’
oh please, daddy please

so i danced with cinderella
while she is here in my arms.
’cause i know something the prince never knew

oh, i dance with Cinderella
i don’t wanna miss even one song
’cause all too soon
the clock will strike midnight
and she’ll be gone

she says he’s a nice guy
and i’d be impressed
she wants to know if i approve of the dress

she says,
dad the prom is just one week away
and i need to practice my dancin’
oh please, daddy please

so i danced with cinderella
while she is here in my arms
’cause i know something the prince never knew

i danced with cinderella
i don’t wanna miss even one song.
’cause all too soon the clock with strike midnight
and she’ll be gone
che will be gone

well she came home today
with a ring on her hand,
just glowing and telling us all they had planned
she says,
dad the wedding’s still six months away
and i need to practice my dancin’
oh please, daddy please

so i danced with Cinderella
while she is here in my arms
’cause i know something the prince never knew

i danced with Cinderella
i don’t wanna miss even one song
’cause all too soon the clock will strike midnight
and she’ll be gone

Leave a Reply

