The Most Perfect Rum Balls Ever Invented

This year will be forever remembered as the year that I found the PERFECT Rum Ball recipe. I’m sure any avid baker has heard of the typical crushed-chocolate/vanilla-wafer recipe, but these, I tell you, are unbeatable. You make brownies first, heavenly, melt-in-your-mouth brownies, and then you take those brownies and break them up into little pieces and just soak them in rum. (Or at least, that’s what it tastes like. 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp rum to a recipe that ends up making around 45 balls, you do the math [necessary for my friends who are asking if they will get drunk {*cough* youknowwhoyouare *cough*} from eating my rum balls].) If I send you cookies this year, please do not insult me by avoiding the rum balls, most especially if you are a very close friend of mine. I absolutely insist on your critiquing them, and see if you aren’t as blown away by them as I am, I dare you. :D

3/4 cup unsalted butter
6 oz. semisweet chocolate
3 eggs
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup + 2 tbsp rum (I used Brazilian Cachaça)
sugar to coat

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 17×12 in baking sheet/jelly roll pan, and set aside.

Melt butter and chocolate in a small heatproof bowl set over a pan of simmering water (OR in a glass pyrex in the microwave, stirring every 15 seconds until all the butter is melted, then simply keep stirring until all the chocolate is melted as well).

In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, brown sugar, vanilla, and salt. Add the chocolate mixture, then fold in the flour with a spatula. Pour batter into prepared baking sheet and spread evenly. Bake until the top is shiny, and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with some crumbs sticking, about 10 minutes. Leave to cool completely in the sheet.

Once cool, break up the brownie into an the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment. With the machine on low speed, slowly pour in the rum and mix until the brownie starts to come together into a soft dough.

Shape into 1 inch balls (I suggest using an ice cream scoop) and roll in sugar to coat.

Store in the fridge.

Makes a good 40 – 50 rum balls.

3 comments

  1. yay! this recipe sounds so simple! and wonderful, awwesome. i still have to make more anise, peppermint, and orange merangues (sp? i canneverspellthatrightbutidon’twanttogoogleit) and i have a feeling i might make some of these.

    and JFYI—even if you could get drunk on these, they would still be WORTH IT! …and the same goes for vodka sauce. hehe. :P

  2. Absolutely the most amazing Rum Balls! I even found the Brazilian Cachaça at my liquor store in Houston. I made them to give as a Christmas gift but can’t stop eating them myself…and I’m not usually a fan of rum balls!!!

    What other recipes do you have to share?

Leave a Reply

