Snickerdoodles

This happens to be the recipe which inspired me to make my Allergy-Free Chocolate Cinammon Sugar Cookies. I actually like my allergy-free recipe better!! I was not incredibly impressed by this recipe at all.. but that’s just me. I suppose they’re not really supposed to be one of those decadent, beats-all, totally, majorly awesome cookies… they’ll do if you’re looking for a quick, simple cookie, which basically tastes like a butter cookie that’s been dusted with a cinnamon/sugar mixture. Haha. Well, at any rate, I brought about… oh, some 100 – 130 cookies to my meeting (I doubled the recipe and still left some 30 – 50 cookies at home.), and so 7 girls pretty much finished all of them. To quote Kim, it was “SOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD, AISA, WHAT DO YOU MEAN THEY’RE NOT AMAZING?!?!?!!” which was in answer to me basically saying everything I’ve just said about them not being the best cookies ever. :D Bwee hee hee. So. Enjoy…

The original recipe tells you to make marble-sized balls and flatten them, hence the original title, which was ‘Penny Snickerdoodles.’ I did not have time to make such small cookies, so I made shooter marble-sized cookies and ended up with cookies about 1 to 1 1/4 inches in diameter. Furthermore, I doubled the recipe. So, with the original measurements, as I’ve put here, you should come up with about 80 cookies if you make them as big as I did, and a great deal more if you’ve the time to make penny-sized cookies. Also, the making of such small cookies was suggested as being a lot of fun for little kids with, obviously, little hands… (uhm… *wonders how to end this paragraph*)

2 cups flour
1 tsp cream of tartar
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg

cinnamon and extra sugar for dusting

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Combine 1 1/3 cups of flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a whisk, cream butter and sugar at medium speed. Add the egg. Stir in the dry ingredients, one third at a time. Add up to 2/3 cup more of flour if the dough is too sticky too roll into balls with your hands.

Roll small pieces of dough into balls the size of marbles (or shooter marbles, or bigger, as you please). Mix sugar and cinnamon in a bowl; 1 tsp of cinnamon for every 1 tbsp of sugar. Roll the balls in the sugar/cinnamon and place on an ungreased baking sheet, about 2 inches apart. Flatten to a little less than 1/4 inch thick, with the bottom of a glass dipped in the sugar/cinnamon to keep it from sticking. Bake the cookies for 5 to 10 minutes, adjusting baking time according to size, until the cookies are lightly browned along the edges.

(They’ll still look rather white where the dough shows through the sugar/cinnamon mixuture, but don’t worry, they’re fine, and be very careful about burning them. For me, cookies averaging about an inch in diameter were perfect at 7 minutes, and burned at 9, so watch it carefully until you’ve figured out the best time.) Leave to cool for about 5 minutes on the sheets before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

