Allergy-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Mom tried the original recipe (which I believe she’ll be blogging about soon), and then I tried to make an allergy-free version. When mum tried mine (and I had had some of the original, so I knew what I was shooting for), she said she couldn’t really detect a difference, except that mine was a tad bit sweeter. It is too sweet, so I’ll have to adjust that next time; it was due to the fact that I used this home-made almond flour that had sugar in it, which I was aware of, and I did cut down the called-for one cup to one-half cup, but it looks like I’ll have to cut down on it a bit more… Mum’ll have to blog exactly how she made that almond flour, and I’ll link to it when she does. Anyway, I wrote “almond flour” in the recipe, so I guess that if you put in almond meal/flour from the store, it won’t turn out as sweet as mine did, and you can just go with the measurements I’ve given.

1/4 cup arrowroot starch/flour
1/2 cup brown rice flour
1/2 cup wheat-free baking mix
1/2 cup almond flour
1/4 cup amaranth flour
2 tsp salt
3/4 tsp baking soda
1 cup vegetable shortening
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2/3 cup packed light brown sugar
2 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp Ener-G Egg Replacer + 4 tbsp warm water (= 2 eggs)
1 1/2 cups chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Combine first seven ingredients (up to the baking soda) and set aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a whisk, cream the shortening. Add both the granulated and the light brown sugar, and beat until fully incorporated, stopping twice to scrape down the sides of the bowl. Add the vanilla, followed by the egg replacer. At the lowest speed of the mixer, add the dry ingredients, one-third at a time. Fold in the chocolate chips with a spatula.

Drop rounded teaspoons (or use an ice cream scoop) of cookie dough onto baking sheets lined with parchment or silicone mats.

Bake for 8 – 10 minutes, turning the sheets around in the middle. Allow to cool for a minute, and then transfer to racks to cool completely. Makes about five dozen cookies.

p1320007.JPG
p1320009.JPG

Leave a Reply

