A book, a song, and a holiday.

Ever heard that song, “The Trouble With Love” ? Well I just heard it again recently, and the last time I heard it, I had a very different concept of love. Or… not different, as in a full 180-degree-turn, just different in the sense that it was not… fully developed. It still isn’t, but I daresay I’m a little farther along than I was the last time I heard that song. Anyway, the lyrics are as follows:

“Love can be a many splendored thing
Can’t deny the joy it brings
A dozen roses, diamond rings
Dreams for sale and fairy tales
It’ll make you hear a symphony
And you just want the world to see
But like a drug that makes you blind,
It’ll fool you every time

 

The trouble with love is
It can tear you up inside
Make your heart believe a lie
It’s stronger than your pride
The trouble with love is
It doesn’t care how fast you fall
And you can’t refuse the call
See, you got no say at all

 

Now I was once a fool, it’s true
I played the game by all the rules
But now my world’s a deeper blue
I’m sadder, but I’m wiser too
I swore I’d never love again
I swore my heart would never mend
Said love wasn’t worth the pain
But then I hear it call my name

 

The trouble with love is
It can tear you up inside
Make your heart believe a lie
It’s stronger than your pride
The trouble with love is
It doesn’t care how fast you fall
And you can’t refuse the call
See, you got no say at all

 

Every time I turn around
I think I’ve got it all figured out
My heart keeps callin’ and I keep on fallin’
Over and over again
This sad story always ends the same
Me standin’ in the pourin’ rain
It seems no matter what I do
It tears my heart in two

 

The trouble with love, yeah
It can tear you up inside
Make your heart believe a lie
It’s stronger than your pride
It’s in your heart
It’s in your soul

 

You won’t get no control
See, you got no say at all”

While I still like this song very much, for some reason or another, the difference in me now, as opposed to before, is that I can see now how sad the world has become in its view of what love is; this song illustrates it. ‘Tis a poor and depressing portrayal. How pathetic. If anyone were to hear it and believe in it heart and soul, they would be very, very unfairly deceived.

Valentine’s Day. I call it St. Valentine’s day. What it has become gives us another glimpse at what people think love is. Now, no offense to any of you who might call it this, too, but some of my friends say that Valentine’s day is Single Awareness Day, and frankly, I just pity them. Why on earth? Well, first of all… we’re teens! C’mon, people! Single Awareness Day??? You can start talking like that when you’re 30 for all I care, but at fifteen? That’s just sad.

But what else can you expect? with songs like “The Trouble With Love” on the radio? Let’s take a look at it, shall we? Now, I know that most people don’t tear a song apart and analyze it like I’m about to do. And me, personally, when I pick this song apart, I hate it, but I still sing along when I hear it. Maybe it’s the beat, the tune, whatever; most of the time (and correct me if I’m wrong), we don’t really pay too much attention to the lyrics. But let’s just clear our heads for a bit and really dig into this one.

… like a drug that makes you blind, it’ll fool you every time…

WOW. We’re comparing love to a drug?? One good thing about this song; it’s putting down drugs. WHEE! But, seriously. What else do they do? (And let’s keep it in our heads that we’re talking the bad drugs.) Yes, they make you blind. They fool you into thinking that you’re doing something that will make you a better person. Usually we’re talking physically. But really, it’ll mess you up physically, and spiritually, and maybe give you suicidal thoughts? Sheesh. So love is now something that will mess you up physically and spiritually and maybe even make you suicidal?!?! That’s so… DEPRESSING! Blindness… foolin’ ya… mess up your life… grr! Don’t believe it. Love is infallible; it has no errors, for all the errors are the want of Love.

“… make your heart believe a lie, it’s stronger than your pride…”

Now, if you’re telling me that this line is true, I’ll agree with you on this one. Love is definitely stronger than pride. Sure, alright, it can make you believe what might turn out to be a lie. But is Love all lies? If you turn out to believe a lie, is it the end of the world? And I don’t mean this like when you’re guilty for sugar-coating what’s as plain as if it’s printed in black and white; I’m talking about when you honestly believe in something or someone that has never given you a reason to believe otherwise. Whose fault is it? Not yours; you’re not the liar. Right? Love in itself is not a lie, and no lie could be out of Love; Love is ultimate Truth. Between whom there is hearty truth, there is Love.

“… the trouble with love is it doesn’t care how fast you fall and you can’t refuse the call; see, you got no say at all…

In short, you have no control over love. How horrible! Believe in this line and apply the “lesson” in it to your own life, and there’s no way that you could become more paranoid. No control over love! So, in short, it just happens to us and there’s no way to escape it and it is most definitely something that you want to escape? (Eh, sorry; not so short as I meant it to be.) Now, I would like to introduce the fact that I Believe That God Is Love. And from there I would like to continue to hold up as an example to all of us, Jesus Christ. He is a most perfect example of what True Love is. When He died for us, it was because He Loved us, wasn’t it? But was He forced to love us? Was love something that He fell into and could not escape though He tried? Well, for one thing, doesn’t that statement kind of take away from our belief that God is All-Powerful? He can do ANYTHING, right? And if love is something that one just falls into, doesn’t that kind of suggest that God’s love for us might be terribly unpredictable? So… if we believe that God is All-Powerful and that He can do anything He wants … then He must be able to escape from anything He doesn’t want to do, eh? And if He is All-Powerful, then nothing has Power enough over Him to make Him fall into something and have no control over it? Now… Do you think that Jesus wanted to Die? Of course, He wanted to save! us, but if it had been possible to save us some other way, without having to die, don’t you think He would have? For us, I’m sure we all have someone in this world that we feel we would do absolutely anything to protect, but I’m sure that doesn’t make us totally fearless of death, if that’s what it were to come to? Friends, let us take our lesson of Love from our Savior. He chose to love us, when He chose to die because He wanted so much to save us. He did it out of True Love for each and every one of us. With that choice, Jesus shows us that we do have control over love. But God proves His Love for us in that while we were still sinners Christ died for us. It may not be perfect love, because we are human, but all the same, we have control. Second… aren’t you glad that God’s love for you isn’t so unpredictable? (I think I’m quoting from a book right there. Sorry.)

“… I swore I’d never love again. I swore my heart would never mend. Said love wasn’t worth the pain…

People, people. What made you so angry and so hurt? That you’d think love the most awful experience known to mankind? Well? If it’s as awful as all that we’re hearing in this one song, then what are all these other things we’re hearing in other songs about how beautiful it is?? Are they sure they’re all talking about the same thing?! Heh, first of all, swearing is bad. =) (I just had to put that.) The Master, who Loved most of all, endured the most and proved His Love by His endurance. Love is what gives strength to endure the most pain, physical and spiritual, as when Jesus was tortured or when we choose to resist temptation and obey out of Love for Him. Haven’t we read/heard that the Saints felt pain because they felt that they could not love God enough? I don’t remember reading anything about them feeling pain because Love had hurt them in ways that would make them less holy. What pain they felt only purified them further. Don’t hold to anger, hurt, or pain; they steal your energy and keep you from Love. If you get hurt by someone, of course there’s a natural fear that you’ll get hurt again. But if you fall down a million times trying to ride the same bike, usually you’d love it enough to keep going till you get it right? Again, hey! don’t be paranoid! If you’re going to go love a human then you realize that they are, just that — human. Meaning they make mistakes and that just because one human isn’t perfect and maybe even mean doesn’t mean everyone else will be just as mean or twice as. Have some faith in humanity, my friends! When God made our first Parents, He called them good. Calm down. You’ll be fine. Especially if you’re fifteen, like me. You needn’t go traipsing about, mourning the fact that you’re all alone and wondering if you’re ever going to find the perfect person….. yeah. I’ll get to all that crazy stuff later.

this sad story always ends the same – me standin’ in the pourin’ rain. it seems no matter what I do it tears my heart in two…

Now, with this line… eh, I’m just gonna leave it. But first… I’d like to know how old this person was and what on earth they were doing and how could they have been so unlucky as to fall in love (and I say fall, because if that was their concept of it when they were doing it, then, naturally, I’ll use their terms) with, apparently, quite a few different people, who did them no good, but only proved to strengthen their opinion of how dismal love-life is, and of course they’re only trying to do great, good, wonderful deeds, by warning damsels in distress-es and princes in… whatever? (How about ‘pickles’? No… it isn’t nearly tragic/poetic enough.)

Ok, ok. Enough about that song. (Personally, now that I’ve written all this, I don’t think I’ll be caught singing that song anywhere outside of my house anymore! Sheesh. I might have a bad influence on someone.) Now… to move on to the holiday part of this piece, and to introduce the book. (If you’re wondering what the heck I’m talking about, it’s probably ’cause you skipped the title. Rule #1 in How to Read a Book — or any other literary masterpiece, for that matter – is read the title. So be a good… person… and go read it. [I was going to say “child” but I thought that might look offensive in a magazine for teens, unless you happen to know me very well and know that I don’t mean any offense whatsoever.])

So. Valentine’s Day. St. Valentines Day, ahem, ahem. I was invited to an event that is(was) worldwide, and took place on Valentine’s Day. It was called, “Day of Purity.” Everyone goes and wears all white to symbolize purity. How lovely! Doesn’t that make your face light up? It’s just so appropriate. Love is supposed to be a beautiful thing that brings much joy, it is pure, clean… Ahh I’ll just go quote St. Paul on this one. Love is patient, love is kind. It is not jealous, is not pompous, it is not inflated, it is not rude, it does not seek its own interests, it is not quick-tempered, it does not brood over injury, it does not rejoice over wrongduings, but rejoices with the truth. It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all this, endures all things. So basically, I didn’t need to put in all those other quotes, because this one passage addresses all of the misconceptions about Love in that song… but I’m too lazy to go and re-write everything. *a wink and a grin*

I guess what I’m trying to say is, if people are going to be celebrating Valentine’s Day as a holiday of love, then we might as well be celebrating Real Love, else we’ll be wasting our time, celebrating something that we think is only nice at certain times, and not nice at other times. It’ll be a celebration some times and close enough to a funeral at other times. (Especially if it gives you suicidal tendencies.) St. Paul sums up what Love is; all in all, Love is Pure, in every sense, in the deepest sense, of the word.

As for “Singles’ Awareness Day,” aware of what? The fact that you’ve no one to go to the movies with as more than just totally awesome friends? Ack. Hey, listen. Single-ness is a gift from God.

Now, that last sentence, I’m not going to go into detail about. What I would like to do instead is to recommend a book to you that will explain that last sentence better than I ever could, and also a whole lot of other stuff that, ten to one, will make you happier when you read it. Don’t judge a book by its cover, and same thing goes for the title. (Did you judge this by its title? Well, you shouldn’t have. The only reason you’re supposed to follow Rule #1 in How to Read a Book is because, from the title, you’re supposed to try and determine what the rest of the piece is about. No, you are not supposed to read the whole story within the title. It’s just supposed to help you guess what I’m writing about. So. Did I meet your expectations?) The book that I would like to recommend, the one that inspired me to pick this song apart and look at all the wonderful things that Love really is, is an awesome book titled “I Kissed Dating Goodbye” and it’s by Joshua Harris. Hey! Give it a chance, alright? I promise you’re not going to get bombarded with stuff like “If you date, you’re a horrible, ridiculous, incredibly sinful person…” so on. Not at all! One of the things that Harris explicitly states is that he does not believe that dating is a sin. That, in itself, especially if you happen to be one of those people who think dating is awesome, should comfort you. :D (Besides. If you like this magazine and like what you’re reading from other people, then keep in mind that at least three people on this staff have read that book. *nods* ;-)

So. #1 book I recommend is the Bible, which was written by awesome dudes who just opened themselves up to God and let Him work through them. And book #2 that I would like to recommend is “I Kissed Dating Goodbye” by Joshua Harris. Book #3 would be ” How to be Really Really Really Happy! But first let me introduce you first to my uncomplicated God.” by Bo Sanchez, which I haven’t exactly mentioned in this article, but his book was also an inspiration…. don’t worry; one of these days I’ll get around to reviewing that book, too.

If you’ve read this far, then I applaud you! heartily! and I thank you for your time and open-mind-ness.

– Ais

p. s. I apologize for my sarcasm. If you don’t know me, maybe you weren’t able to pick it out; then again, maybe you were, and you were most offended by it. :P *sniff* (that was sarcasm right there. in case you didn’t know.)

Leave a Reply

