Allergy-Free Lemon Cakes

It was mom’s birthday on Saturday, and my uncle and I got up at 7 to cook breakfast. :D I had no idea how I was going to go about it, but I meant to bake something that everyone could have. So, here we are, Allergy-Free Lemon Cakes, and I am so happy to say that everybody loved them!!! and actually asked me to make more for the next day. What a success!!!

For cakes:
2 cups wheat-free baking mix
1 1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
2/3 cup oil
1 cup sugar
4 1/2 tsp Ener-G Egg Replacer + 6 tbsp warm water (= 3 eggs)
2/3 cup rice milk
1 tbsp lemon zest

For glaze:
2/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup lemon juice

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 12-cup muffin tin.

In a bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together oil and sugar. Add the egg replacer mixture, one-third at a time, and then the milk. Mix in half of the flour mixture at a time. Fold in lemon zest. Divide evenly among the muffin cups. Bake for 18 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the centers comes out clean.

While the cakes are baking, mix together sugar and lemon juice.

Allow the cakes to cool in the muffin tin for five minutes, then invert onto a wire rack set over wax paper. Brush the cakes with glaze while they are still warm. Allow them to cool and brush them again before serving.

p1230356.JPG
p1230355.JPG

Leave a comment