Chocolate Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich Cookies

Well, here is my first post, and it’s driving me nuts because the pictures simply won’t be nice and upload…. Anyway… I made Chocolate Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich Cookies from Celebrate with Chocolate.

Totally Over-the-Top Recipes

For the White Chocolate Bread Dough

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 lb. butter
1 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
3 oz. melted white chocolate

For the Chocolate Crust Dough

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/8 tsp. salt
3 oz. butter
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 egg white
1 oz. unsweetened chocolate

peanut butter
grape jelly

I’ll give the basic instructions before my own comments:

The procedure is the same for both doughs, and it’s fairly simple. Sift the flower and salt together. Cream (see comments) the butter and sugar together, add the egg, mix until fully incorporated, then add the melted chocolate. Mix well. Gradually add the dry ingredients.

The result is a dough that doesn’t come together in the mixer, but it is not so sticky that it’s hard to shape once you turn it out on to the wax paper. Turn, or rather, scrape, out the dough onto a sheet of wax paper, a 12 x 18 rectangle, and shape the white chocolate dough so that it resembles a loaf of bread, about 2 x 2 1/2 inches. Put that on a baking sheet and stick it in the fridge while you’re making the chocolate crust. When you turn/scrape that one out, just form it all together before you start rolling it out. Roll it out into a rectangle that will completely and neatly cover your ‘loaf’ that’s in the fridge. Bring out the white chocolate loaf, and wrap it in the chocolate dough (please see comments especially about this part; you might make up your mind to do something else). Make sure it’s still shaped like a loaf of bread, and make sure that there are no air bubbles inside your assembled loaf. Wrap it neatly in the wax paper, and stick it back in the fridge for another hour.

p1120834.JPG

Preheat the oven to 325°. Take out the loaf and slice it 1/4 inch thick. I used a butcher’s knife (see comments).

p1120835.JPG

Place on a greased baking sheet about a half-inch apart.

p1120836.JPG

p1120837.JPG

Bake for 20 minutes.

p1120838.JPG

Let them cool for about 10-15 minutes, and then carefully use a spatula to get them off the sheet. Spread peanut butter on one slice and grape jelly on the other (make sure you spread on the side that was touching the baking sheet). Put them together like a sandwich and slice each one of these sandwiches in half.

p1120840.JPG

p1120841.JPG

What you get is a half-sandwich that’s about 2 x 3 inches.

p1120843.JPG

p1120845.JPG

And now for the chef’s notes…

I started baking at about 7 PM and stayed up until 1:30 AM, because Dad meant to bring the cookies to some meeting at work. I didn’t follow the recipe to the letter, I’m afraid, so that might have had something to do with the fact that the dough wasn’t as stiff as it was described… I didn’t follow the times… the whole mixing for 1 minute, for 20 seconds, and so on… so that was probably a bad thing. It did not say that the butter was supposed to be softened, so I didn’t wait for it to soften, and then the recipe said to beat until soft, not to cream it. I’m thinking that there is a difference. So… I ended up creaming it before adding the egg and therefore left it to mix longer than the 2 minutes that I was told to mix it. Hmph. So yes, I noticed it said something like “this dough is very stiff,” but when I finished mixing it, it didn’t seem any more stiff than normal cookie dough.

I did use wax paper; it gave me that option, though it put parchment paper first. I was kind of in a hurry, so what actually happened was, I let both doughs chill for an hour, separately. I did not read the part about wrapping the white chocolate in the chocolate before putting it in for that hour. So… I’m actually still trying to figure out if that was better or not, because I honestly think that the white dough wouldn’t have been chilled enough to keep it’s shape if I wrapped it in the chocolate dough right away. I think it was better the way it was, because the white chocolate stayed in a nice block, or loaf, or log, whatever you would like to call it, while I was wrapping it in the chocolate. So, I don’t know what would have happened if I’d read that part properly, but it still worked out, so I’ll let you decide how you want to do it, if you want to wrap it right away, or chill for an hour before wrapping. You might want to see how the white chocolate dough feels, and make your desicion based on that. It might have been a time-saver if I’d followed the directions, but considering that the dough didn’t come together in the mixer, I think it might have been a lucky mistake.

Now, when cutting the dough, it said to use a serrated knife, but I definitely think the butcher’s knife was the better choice, because it slipped in neatly. The recipe said very specifically to cut the loaf into 32 slices exactly, but I ended up cutting it into 30… It was also very specific about spreading 2 tbsps of peanut butter and jelly on each sandwich, but I didn’t follow that either… lol. I just… estimated. And went by my own… head. *grin* I think I did ok. Anyway, packed up the cookies for Dad to take the next morning, put a note on the fridge to Daddy, and I went to SLEEP.

And the next day when I had a cookie, I found out that it was so thick because of the filling, it was at least 6 bites. NOT FAIR! Only 17 ppl at Daddy’s meeting and I’d sent some 26 cookies that were at least 6 big bites?!?! Too late…. LOL Daddy said they were a big hit. Gone. Totally. Ah well… at least it feels good to know that people liked them… Ngek. *grin*

Leave a Reply

